Protest Songs for Science Marchers

22 04 2017

Preparing for the Boston March for Science, members of the community put together a some protest songs for science marchers. This video is the unofficial anthem, STAND UP FOR SCIENCE (#11 below), composed by Dr. Thomas Michel.

For participants in #ScienceMarch and #ClimateMarch, sharing new lyrics*
by Amber Houghstow, Nina Lytton, and Adam Hasz
or others as indicated below.

Here’s a PDF of the March for Science Songbook

#MarchForScience and enjoy the day!

 

1) The Tide Is Rising

Rabbi Shoshana Meira Friedman
and Yotam Schachter

G                                         D

The tide is rising, and so are we!

D              C                        D

The tide is rising, and so are we!

G                                          D

The tide is rising, and so are we!

Chorus

D        Am                             Bm

This is where we are called to be,

Bm       C                D            G

This is where we are called to be!

 

Science Verses* (each 3x)

The task is mighty, and so are we!

The facts speak boldly, and so do we!

The truth shines brightly, & so do we!

The world is ready, and so are we!

 

2) Keep on Moving Forward

Pat Humphries

Gonna keep on moving forward

                                              Clap,clap,clap. Clap,clap

Keep on moving forward

                                              Clap,clap,clap. Clap,clap

Keep on moving forward

                                              Clap,clap,clap. Clap,clap

Chorus

Never turning back

Never turning back

Science Verses* (with clapping)

Gonna stand and sing for science

Stand and sing for science (2x)

Gonna keep on doing research

Keep on doing research (2x)

Yes, all of us together

All of us together (2x)

Gonna face those facts together

Face those facts together (2x)

Gonna keep on moving forward

Keep on moving forward (2x)

 

3) Singing for Our Lives

Holly Near

We are an introverted people  ;->

Chorus:

And we are singing, singing for our lives!

Science Verses*

We are a research-loving people

We respect the laws of nature

Our research defends our country

 

Original Verses

We are a justice-seeking people

We are young and old together

We are a land of many colors

We are gay and straight together

We are a gentle, loving people

4) Michael Row the Boat Ashore

Traditional

Michael row the boat ashore

Chorus:

Hallelujah!

Science Verses*

Michael’s boat is a science boat

Michael’s boat is for everyone

Learn and share the facts freely

We’re in this boat with all of you

Rowing toward a more just land

Where scientists take a moral stand

Keeping air and water clean

Science protects you and me

 

5) Revolution in You

Adapted from SGI-USA Student Divisio

Close your eyes

And imagine your home.
Walls and pictures

Of people you know.
Well the world is my home,

So your house is mine too.
And if you look to the heart,

These words will ring true.

Chorus A:
Time to say goodbye to the fear within you
It’s what you do, a Revolution in you!
Aim to change yourself,
And trust that I will, too!
It’s what we have to do
If you only believe

In the things that we don’t share,

Then you’ll only see a people without care!

If you only believe in the things we don’t share,

Then the future will be a world without us there.

Chorus B
Take my hand; put down your arms
You can change the world
No matter who you are.
Determination takes hold of resignation!
Come and join us in a global transformation!
Cause if you really believe

That the world is ours to share.

And you really respect

The hearts of everyone there.

Cause if you really believe

That the world is ours to share.

Then believe me you’ll see

A world with less despair!

 

Chorus B

Chorus A

 

6) The Same Thing

Rachel Schragis

Oo wah oo, wa oo, wa oo (2X)

There are some places I’ve been

That you have not been to
There are some places I’ve been

That you have been to too
There are some places you’ve been

That I have not been to
There are some places that we

Have not been to yet.
Chorus
There is one question
With a thousand answers
Or perhaps only one answer
To a thousand things to ask
But hey, don’t you know,
There’s no need to feel dejected
All of our grievances
Are connected

Oo wah oo, wa oo, wa oo (2X)
Everywhere I go

I see a different situation,

But everywhere I go

I see the same thing.

Everywhere we are

We see a different situation,

But everywhere we are

We know the same thing.
Chorus

7) People Gonna Rise

Unknown

The People gonna rise with the water,
We gonna calm this crisis down,
Hear the voice of my great grandaughter,

Singing ‘Science Funding Now!’

Singing ‘Climate Justice Now!’

 

8) Down by the Riverside

Adapted from traditional*

Gonna come outside of my lab

Down by the riverside (3x)

Gonna lay down my sword and shield

Down by the riverside

Be silenced no more

 

Chorus (2x):

Ain’t gonna be silenced no more,
Ain’t gonna be silenced no more,
Ain’t gonna be “fake news” no more!

Gonna shake hands around the world

Down by the riverside (3x)

Gonna shake hands around the world

Be silenced no more.

Chorus (2x)

Gonna stand up for my research

Down by the riverside (3x)

Gonna stand up for my research

Be silenced no more.

Chorus (2x)

Gonna lay down my fear and hate

Down by the riverside (3x)

Gonna lay down my fear and hate

Be silenced no more.

Chorus (2x)

Gonna put on my starry crown

Down by the riverside (3x)

Gonna put on my starry crown

Be silenced no more.

Chorus (2x)


9) When I’m Gone  

Phil Ochs

There’s no place in this world where I’ll belong when I’m gone
And I won’t know the right from the wrong when I’m gone
And you won’t find me singin’ on this song when I’m gone
So I guess I’ll have to do it while I’m here

And I won’t feel the flowing of the time when I’m gone
All the pleasures of love will not be mine when I’m gone
My pen won’t pour out a lyric line when I’m gone
So I guess I’ll have to do it while I’m here

And I won’t breathe the bracing air when I’m gone
And I can’t even worry ’bout my cares when I’m gone
Won’t be asked to do my share when I’m gone
So I guess I’ll have to do it while I’m here

And I won’t be running from the rain when I’m gone
And I can’t even suffer from the pain when I’m gone
Can’t say who’s to praise and who’s to blame when I’m gone
So I guess I’ll have to do it while I’m here

Won’t see the golden of the sun when I’m gone
And the evenings and the mornings will be one when I’m gone
Can’t be singing louder than the guns when I’m gone
So I guess I’ll have to do it while I’m here

All my days won’t be dances of delight when I’m gone
And the sands will be shifting from my sight when I’m gone
Can’t add my name into the fight while I’m gone
So I guess I’ll have to do it while I’m here

And I won’t be laughing at the lies when I’m gone
And I can’t question how or why when I’m gone
Can’t live proud enough to die when I’m gone
So I guess I’ll have to do it while I’m here.

 

10) If I Had a Theory

To the tune of If I Had a Hammer by Lee Hays & Pete Seeger
New Lyrics: Elizabeth Weinbloom, Claire Paulson, Andrew Ross and Jeremy Simon,
on behalf of Vocal Opposition.

If I had a theory

I’d test it in the morning

I’d test it in the evening

All over this lab

I’d test out danger

I’d test out a warning

I’d test out love between

My brothers and my sisters

All over this lab

If I had some data

I’d plot it in the morning

I’d plot it in the evening

All over this lab

I’d plot out danger

I’d plot out a warning

I’d plot out love between

My brothers and my sisters

All over this lab

If I had funding

I’d publish in the morning

I’d publish in the evening

All over this lab

I’d publish danger

I’d publish a warning

I’d publish love between

My brothers and my sisters

All over this lab

Well, I’ve got a theory

And I’ve got data

And I’ve got the funds to test

It all in this lab!

It’s the theory of knowledge

It’s the light of reason

It’s a song about truth for all

My brothers and my sisters

All over this land

It’s the theory of knowledge

It’s the light of reason

It’s a song about truth for all my brothers and my sisters

All over this land

 

11) Stand Up for Science

To the tune of This Land is Your Land by Woodie Guthrie
New Lyrics: Dr. Thomas Michel

Stand up for science

No time for silence!

The cure for cancer-

We need an answer.

Hear our entreaties,

Cure diabetes.

Science is good for you and me!

For global warming,

The facts come swarming.

Climate denial-

It’s suicidal!

You might deny it-

We just don’t buy it.

Science is good for you and me.

Don’t de-fund science-

Join our alliance!

New forms of energy-

It’s time for synergy.

To protect our planet,

Science- don’t ban it!!!

Science is good for you and me!

You huddled masses-

Come take our classes.

If you are yearning-

Come here for learning.

And after college-

Please share your knowledge.

Science is good for you and me!

Our Muslim brothers,

Sisters and others:

We stand beside you

And won’t deride you

Banned immigration-

Bad for our nation

Science is good for you and me!

Healthcare is our right,

For which we must fight.

Our vision’s global

Our cause is noble.

It’s our insistence-

Join the resistance!

Science is good for you and me.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

